View and Trash Data Created by QuickBooks

Overview 

Use filters to easily identify data that was created by QuickBooks Online or QuickBooks Desktop. With these search results, you can easily export, group, and/or trash this data.

Linked Articles:

Trash Contacts

Overview of the QuickBooks Integration

How to Connect QuickBooks Desktop to Kindful

Connecting QuickBooks Online: Getting Started


How to Find This Data

You may have connected QuickBooks and brought in unintended data, duplicate data, or simply data you wish to not be in your Kindful account. You could have also connected the wrong QuickBooks account, disconnected that account, and connected a new one, so now you need to clear out the initial data set you brought into Kindful.

These filters provide you with a way to identify this newly created data and take the proper action on it.

Contacts

From the Contacts page, you can use the filter "Contacts Created By Integration". You will choose the appropriate "QuickBooks connected" answer-value option. When you begin typing in the answer-value section, the dropdown of answers will include all QuickBooks accounts that have been connected to your Kindful account, identified with the timestamp of connection.

Screen_Shot_2020-08-12_at_8.27.23_AM.png

This filter will produce only contacts that were created by this QuickBooks connection.

Activities

From the Activities page, you can use the filter "Activities Created By Integration". You will choose the appropriate "QuickBooks connected" answer-value option. When you begin typing in the answer-value section, the dropdown of answers will include all QuickBooks accounts that have been connected to your Kindful account, identified with the timestamp of connection.

Screen_Shot_2020-08-12_at_8.37.28_AM.png

This filter will produce only Activities that were created by this QuickBooks connection.

Of Note: For QuickBooks Desktop connections, only Contacts and Activities brought into Kindful after August 12, 2020, will be included in your results.


Performing a Trash Job

You can see which contacts were created by QuickBooks and are also able to be trashed by combining these two filters:

  • "Can Be Moved To Trash: Yes"
  • "Contacts Created by Integration:"

Screen_Shot_2020-08-12_at_8.45.53_AM.png

Admin users that are Staff and above can perform this action.

For a contact to be eligible to be trashed, it cannot have a one-time (online) donation or a recurring donation associated with it. If the transaction has been refunded or cancelled, it can be trashed. A contact will be excluded from being eligible to be trashed when their online donation (one time or recurring) is processed directly via Kindful donation page or Donation Plugin.

Of Note: Contacts with online transactions that are automated into Kindful (via Stripe Create or PayPal) or that are imported with the identifier of “online transaction” will not be excluded from eligibility for trashing; these can still be trashed.

If something causes a queued trash contact to no longer be eligible for trashing, typically an online transaction, they will be skipped when the trashing process gets to that record.  

In the case of an import update, if the update occurs before the trash and nothing in it causes that contact to be ineligible, then it and the update will be trashed.

To trash a contact from the Contacts page, you can either pick and choose which ones you want, or begin with a filtered view, and select contact records from there. When you select contact records, you will see a Move to Trash icon appear on the right-hand sidebar.

Screen_Shot_2020-01-06_at_11.11.22_AM.png

 

You will see a confirmation appear, indicating how many contacts can (or cannot) be moved to the trash. It will appear like this:

Screen_Shot_2020-01-06_at_10.06.29_AM.png

When a contact is moved to the trash, all that contact’s associated activities (transactions, registrations, notes), contact information, and relationships will also be trashed.

When the process is complete, the contacts will no longer be visible in searches, reports, or filter results. Trashed contacts will visible in your Trash view (Settings > Trash). 

*A maximum of 1,000 contacts can be moved to the trash at one time.


How to Trash a Singular Contact from a Contact Profile

To perform this step, you need to head to the contact's profile. Click on the Profile tab along the top of the profile, and scroll to the bottom of the entry fields. In the Move Contact to Trash section, click on the Move Contact to Trash link.

When you are on a contact record that is ineligible to be trashed, and therefore cannot be removed, the Move Contact to Trash option will appear like this:

Screen_Shot_2019-12-18_at_1.59.26_PM.png


Still have questions?

Feel free to send our support team an email, or you can call the phone number found in the lower left hand corner of your Kindful Admin account to speak to a team member. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments