Trash Contacts to delete and remove a contact completely from Kindful. Trashing Contacts is different from Archiving Contacts; it will fully remove a contact from Kindful. Read more about Archiving contacts below to see if it is a better solution.
If you do not see this option on your account, please use the link at the bottom of this article to contact support so we can enable it for you.
*This is not a GDPR solution. Please reference our Help Center or contact Support for more information regarding this.
How to Trash Contacts from the Contacts Page
Admin users that are Staff and above can perform this action.
For a contact to be eligible to be trashed, it cannot have a one-time (online) donation or a recurring donation associated with it. If the transaction has been refunded or cancelled, it can be trashed. A contact will be excluded from being eligible to be trashed when their online donation (one time or recurring) is processed directly via Kindful donation page or Donation Plugin.
Of Note: Contacts with online transactions that are automated into Kindful (via Stripe Create or PayPal) or that are imported with the identifier of “online transaction” will not be excluded from eligibility for trashing; these can still be trashed.
If something causes a queued trash contact to no longer be eligible for trashing, typically an online transaction, they will be skipped when the trashing process gets to that record.
In the case of an import update, if the update occurs before the trash and nothing in it causes that contact to be ineligible, then it and the update will be trashed.
To trash a contact from the Contacts page, you can either pick and choose which ones you want, or begin with a filtered view, and select contact records from there. When you select contact records, you will see a Move to Trash icon appear on the right-hand sidebar.
You will see a confirmation appear, indicating how many contacts can (or cannot) be moved to the trash. It will appear like this:
When a contact is moved to the trash, all that contact’s associated activities (transactions, registrations, notes), contact information, and relationships will also be trashed.
When the process is complete, the contacts will no longer be visible in searches, reports, or filter results. Trashed contacts will visible in your Trash view (Settings > Trash).
*A maximum of 1,000 contacts can be moved to the trash at one time. If you find that you have more than 1,000 contacts that need to be trashed, a good way to do this is to use Demographic section of the Basic Search and begin clicking on each letter until getting close to 1,000, and then you can delete that set of contacts. Then, you can pick up at the next letter and repeat the process until it is finished.
How to Trash a Singular Contact from a Contact Profile
To perform this step, you need to head to the contact's profile. Click on the Profile tab along the top of the profile, and scroll to the bottom of the entry fields. In the Move Contact to Trash section, click on the Move Contact to Trash link.
When you are on a contact record that is ineligible to be trashed, and therefore cannot be removed, the Move Contact to Trash option will appear like this:
How to View Trashed Contacts
You can view a list of all Trashed contacts by navigating to Settings > Trash.
This view shows an audit log of all Trashed contacts, as well as a listing of which Admin moved the contact to the trash along with a timestamp of this move.
How to Filter for Trashed Contacts
Use this filter to help identify applicable contacts.
Contacts who Can Be Moved To Trash: Yes are all contacts without an Online Donation (one time or recurring).
Contacts that are connected to an integration and are trashed in Kindful are eligible to be re-created by that integration.
Of Note: If you are not seeing this feature on your account, use the link below to send an email to a member of our Care Team to assist.
Still have questions?
Feel free to send our support team an email, or you can call the phone number found in the lower left hand corner of your Kindful Admin account to speak to a team member.